Software Quality

Basically if we talk about the software quality there is no clear answer to it. The answer varies from person to person. So following any one of the person,

According to the Pressmen, they defined the software quality as the confirmance to the explicitly started functional and the performance requirements. It is the explicitly documented development standards and implicit characteristics that are expected from the professionally developed software.

Therefore, this answer serves to highlight the 3 important points:

  1. Software requirements and specifications are the building blocks which measures the quality suggesting that if there is lack of confirmances to requirements, there is lack of software quality.
  2. Specified standards defines the set of criteria for the development that helps guiding the manner in which the software is engineered. So until and unless the criteria is followed, the software quality is surely achieved.
  3. There is the set of the implicit requirements which is often unmentioned. If the software meets the explicit requirements but fails to meet the implicit requirements, software quality degrades.

In general, one can understand that the software quality is a complex mix of the factors that varies from person to person and from system to system.

The Capability Maturity Model

A standardized framework for assessing the organization’s information system development and management processes and products.

This is the formal definition of the Capability Maturity Model which is often abbreviated as CMM. Often we can see that an organizations development process maturity, project timelines and cost decreases with the increase in productivity and quality. It happens most time.  So after observing and measuring this factor, the Software Engineering Institute at Carnegie Mellon University has developed the Model which is known as Capability Maturity Model. This model is organized in such a way that it has 5 maturity levels, which are given as below:

  • Level 1: Initial
  • Level 2: Repeatable
  • Level 3: Defined
  • Level 4: Managed
  • Level 5: Optimized

As seen in the figure below, we can see the product and capability as the level increases and the risks too. All the levels have their own capability as we can see the picture below. The risks are too much in the level 1 i.e. while initiating, and as the level rises up the risks and waste also gets on decreasing while the productivity and quality gets on increasing as the level rises up with decreasing the risks.


Source :